May 30, 2014; Miami, FL, USA; Miami Heat center Greg Oden (right) holds up the conference championship trophy after defeating the Indiana Pacers in game six of the Eastern Conference Finals of the 2014 NBA Playoffs at American Airlines Arena. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

Miami Heat Eastern Conference Championship Ceremony (Video)

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

On Friday night, the Miami Heat took down the Indiana Pacers 117-92 in game 6 of the Eastern Conference Finals to win the series 4-2 and advance to the NBA Finals for the fourth consecutive season. [category-related]

The Heat and Pacers played an intense seven-game series just a year ago and the defeated the Pacers at the American Airlines Arena in game 7 to advance to the NBA Finals. Since that loss, the Pacers vowed to earn home court advantage in the playoffs so that if the two teams met again, the Pacers would host game 7.

After the Pacers took down the Heat 107-96 in game 1, it looked like we may be headed towards another classic series. However, the Heat responded with a game 2 victory in Indiana 87-83. They then returned to Miami and took both games 3 and 4, winning 99-87 and 102-90. When the series shifted back to Indiana for game 5, the Pacers forced another game, defeating the Heat 93-90. However, the Heat’s blowout victory prevented the Pacers from having a chance to host game 7.

After the game, the Heat hit the court to accept the Eastern Conference Championship for the fourth consecutive year, meaning they have advanced to the Finals every year since LeBron James and Chris Bosh decided to sign with the Heat and team up with Dwyane Wade. You can watch the video below.

The Heat now await the winner of the Western Conference Finals between the Oklahoma City Thunder and San Antonio Spurs. The Spurs lead the series 3-2 and game 6 from the Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma is scheduled for 9:00 pm EST Saturday night.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: 2014 NBA Playoffs Chris Bosh Dwyane Wade Indiana Pacers Lebron James Miami Heat Oklahoma City Thunder San Antonio Spurs

comments powered by Disqus