New York Rangers goalie Henrik Lundqvist is still fuming after a non interference call that resulted in a 4-3 game during Game 2 on Monday.
The play in question ended up contributing to the Rangers losing Game 2, because if interference had been called then the goal wouldn’t have counted and the Kings would have likely lost in regulation. Lundqvist is still angry less than 24 hours later and wants something to be done.
“I’m extremely disappointed on that call or non-call. They got to be consistent with that rule. We, in the second period get called for a penalty and the puck is not even there. They score a goal and I can’t even move. It’s extremely frustrating for them to get life like that. After that, it’s a different game. I don’t expect a penalty on the play but they need to blow the whistle. A goalie can’t move when you have a guy like that on top of you. It’s such an important play of that game.”
The shot in question occurred when Los Angeles Kings’ Matt Green took a shot on net and it was deflected in by Dwight King. As Lundqvist was trying to make the save, King was in his crease resulting in Lundqvist not having the ability to move to the puck to try and make the save. Unfortunately goalie interference is not a reviewable play. It is a judgement call by officials, and after complaints from Lundqvist as well as those on the Rangers bench, the goal was allowed.
“He said the puck had already passed me. I don’t buy it,” Lundqvist said. “That’s a wrist shot, that I’m just going to reach out for and I can’t move. It’s a different game after that. It’s such an important play in the game.”
Here’s the play in question: