May 12, 2014; Montreal, Quebec, CAN; Boston Bruins goaltender Tuukka Rask (40) makes a glove save during the first period in game six of the second round of the 2014 Stanley Cup Playoffs against the Montreal Canadiens at Bell Centre. Mandatory Credit: Eric Bolte-USA TODAY Sports

Boston Bruins goalie Tuukka Rask wins Vezina Trophy

Tuukka Rask of the Boston Bruins is the 2013-2014 Vezina Trophy winner after his stellar play in between the pipes resulted in the Bruins having the top record in the NHL this year.

Ben Bishop of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Semyon Varlamov, who led the league with 41 wins, of the Colorado Avalanche were the other finalists for the 2013-14 Vezina Trophy that was won last year by Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets. It was the first nominations for each of the three finalists.

Rask led the NHL with seven shutouts, was second with a .930 save percentage, his 2.04 goals-against average was fourth and he finished fifth in wins. The win by Rask is the third by a Boston goalie in the last six seasons as former Stanley Cup champion, Tim Thomas, won the award in 2008-2009 and 2010-2011.

At 27 years old, Rask could find himself in the running to win the Vezina for the next few seasons as the Bruins boast one of the top defenses in front of him.

The general managers vote to determine the winner for the award named after former Montreal Canadiens goaltender Georges Vezina who starred in net from 1910-1925, but died of tuberculosis in 1926.

Recently voted into the Hockey Hall of Fame, Dominik Hasek is the all-time leader in Vezina Trophy’s as the former Buffalo Sabres and Detroit Red Wings goalie has six on his resume while Martin Brodeur has four and Patrick Roy, who own the Jack Adams Award as the league’s top coach earlier on the night, has three from his time with the Montreal Canadiens.

Tags: Ben Bishop Boston Bruins Hockey Semyon Varlamov Tuukka Rask Vezina Trophy

comments powered by Disqus