Jun 27, 2013; Brooklyn, NY, USA; A general view as NBA commissioner David Stern (right) , deputy commissioner Adam Silver (left) and former NBA player Hakeem Olajuwon speak on stage after the first round of the 2013 NBA Draft at the Barclays Center. Mandatory Credit: Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

List of every NBA Draft No. 1 pick in history

On Thursday night, another name will be added to the long list of players who have been selected with the No. 1 overall pick in the NBA Draft. The Cleveland Cavaliers hold the top pick for the third time in four years, but there is no guarantee they will be the team making the selection when the draft begins.

Regardless of a trade, many believe Andrew Wiggins will become the top pick in this year’s draft, which would make him the first Kansas Jayhawks player to go with in the top spot since Danny Manning in 1988.

It would be the second straight year that a Canadian was taken with the first pick in the draft.

We will find out who will be the latest player to join the list of No. 1 overall picks in just a matter of hours.

Until then, let’s take a full look back at history.

You can check out the full list of previous No. 1 draft picks in the list below:

Year Name Team School/Country
2013 Anthony Bennett Cleveland UNLV
2012 Anthony Davis New Orleans Kentucky
2011 Kyrie Irving Cleveland Duke
2010 John Wall Washington Kentucky
2009 Blake Griffin Los Angeles Cippers Oklahoma
2008 Derrick Rose Chicago Memphis
2007 Greg Oden Portland Ohio State
2006 Andrea Bargnani Toronto Italy
2005 Andrew Bogut Milwaukee Utah
2004 Dwight Howard Orlando SW Atlanta Christian Academy (GA)
2003 LeBron James Cleveland St. Vincent-St. Mary HS (OH)
2002 Yao Ming Houston China
2001 Kwame Brown Washington Glynn Academy
2000 Kenyon Martin New Jersey Nets Cincinnati
1999 Elton Brand Chicago Bulls Duke
1998 Michael Olowokandi Los Angeles Clippers Pacific (Cal.)
1997 Tim Duncan San Antonio Wake Forest
1996 Allen Iverson Philadelphia Georgetown
1995 Joe Smith Golden State Maryland
1994 Glenn Robinson Milwaukee Purdue
1993 Chris Webber Orlando Michigan
1992 Shaquille O’Neal Orlando Louisiana State
1991 Larry Johnson Charlotte Nevada-Las Vegas
1990 Derrick Coleman New Jersey Syracuse
1989 Pervis Ellison Sacramento Louisville
1988 Danny Manning L.A. Clippers Kansas
1987 David Robinson San Antonio Navy
1986 Brad Daugherty Cleveland North Carolina
1985 Patrick Ewing New York Georgetown
1984 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston Houston
1983 Ralph Sampson Houston Virginia
1982 James Worthy L.A. Lakers North Carolina
1981 Mark Aguirre Dallas DePaul
1980 Joe Barry Carroll Golden State Purdue
1979 Magic Johnson L.A. Lakers Michigan State
1978 Mychal Thompson Portland Minnesota
1977 Kent Benson Milwaukee Indiana
1976 John Lucas Houston Maryland
1975 David Thompson Atlanta North Carolina State
1974 Bill Walton Portland UCLA
1973 Doug Collins Philadelphia Illinois State
1972 LaRue Martin Portland Loyola-Chicago
1971 Austin Carr Cleveland Notre Dame
1970 Bob Lanier Detroit St. Bonaventure
1969 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Milwaukee UCLA
1968 Elvin Hayes Houston Houston
1967 Jimmy Walker Detroit Providence
1966 Cazzie Russell New York Michigan

Who will join that list tonight? Sound off in the comments section below with your thoughts.

Be sure to stay tuned to FanSided.com throughout the remainder of the night for the latest news and results from the NBA Draft.

Tags: 2014 NBA Draft NBA NBA Draft

comments powered by Disqus