Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

2014 MLB All-Star Game: National League starting lineup announced

The National League All-Star starting lineup has been announced. It is a group that generally consists of very few surprises and has an especially impressive trip in the outfield that includes the mercurial Yasiel Puig.

Troy Tulowitzki and his absolutely dominant season at shortstop for the Colorado Rockies leads the way in total votes, a title he held pretty much from wire to wire in the voting process. That is certainly deserved and a rare bright spot in the dumpster fire that is the Rockies’ season.

Here is how the lineup plays out by position for the National League:

C – Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals
1B – Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks
2B – Chase Utley, Philadelphia Phillies
SS – Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado Rockies
3B – Aramis Ramirez, Milwaukee Brewers
OF – Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
OF – Carlos Gomez, Milwaukee Brewers
OF – Yasiel Puig, Los Angeles Dodgers

So you’re saying that the Jonathan Lucroy advertisement in Milwaukee didn’t work? Nevertheless, the NL has a chance to be stacked at the catcher position.

Tough omission in the outfield with Giancarlo Stanton of the Miami Marlins. While it is hard to argue with any of the three athletic and uber-talented guys who made it, Stanton is near the top of every statistical category this season. He will certainly still play a key role for the NL and deliver some of the must-see at-bats, whether as a designated hitter or once he enters the game in the outfield.

Ramirez seems an odd choice at third base given his limited time because of injury and the good work by guys like Todd Frazier and Matt Carpenter. Here’s one vote that Frazier should have started, but he should be a lock for a reserve spot.

What do you think of the NL team? Did the fans get it right? Who should have made it? Sound off in the comments with your thoughts.

Tags: Arizona Diamondbacks Colorado Rockies Los Angeles Dodgers Milwaukee Brewers MLB All-Star Game National League Pittsburgh Pirates St. Louis Cardinals