MLB All-Star Game 2015: Complete history of winners


Here is a complete list of all 85 All-Star Game winners to date with MVP honors. 

The Major League Baseball All-Star Game—aka “The Mid-Summer Classic”—is the most storied of professional sports’ All-Star games. It is a tradition unlike any other in professional sports—a true exhibition where the game’s best players assemble on one diamond to play this country’s most beloved sport (historically-speaking).

Though an exhibition, it has historically been more competitive than the All-Star games in other sports, probably because historically no other sport has produced the kind of fierce competitors baseball has.

More from MLB All-Star Game

Until 2003 there was no intrinsic benefit in either league winning the All-Star Game, aside from bragging rights over the other league—and perhaps a slightly larger bonus check for winning. That fact, of course changed following the 2002 game when the final was a tie, and an embarrassment to baseball, especially with it taking place in Commissioner Bud Selig’s home ballpark, Miller Park.

It now involves necessitated competition based on the fact the winning league earns home-field advantage in the World Series. I discuss the merit of this decision here (hint: it really hasn’t changed either the “Mid-Summer Classic” or “Fall Classic”).

There was one other tie in All-Star Game—it came on July 31 at Fenway Park in Boston, as the second All-Star Game played that year (the American League won the first one played three weeks earlier at D.C. Stadium).

Two All-Star Games was a trend baseball tried for a period of four seasons, starting in 1959 and finally ending in 1962. Major League Baseball commissioner Ford Frick admitted at the time the game was an opportunity to further create revenue for the league and its players—the money went into the player’s pension fund.

It was a bit easier to sell then than it would be now since there was no Interleague play at the time, and so it allowed the two leagues to intermingle with a slight bit more of regularity. In those eight games, the National League won five contests, the American League two and of course the ominous tie hangs there in the balance.

The extra victories earned during the odd days of double All-Star Games helped earn the National League their current tight victory margin of 43-40-2.

Granted the National League also had an 11-game winning streak in the Summer Classic from 1972 to 1982.

The American League put together an even more impressive streak, winning 12 straight times recently—starting in 1997 and lasting until 2009 (obviously not counting the tie in 2002). Within that time frame, of course, is the interspersion of the All-Star Game also determining home-field advantage in the World Series.

All in all, there have been some incredibly memorable moments in MLB All-Star Games. But most often the common baseball fan forgets which team won, even in the games which presented memorable moments.

Here is a reminder. A reminder of who won every All-Star Game ever played, and every MVP since 1962—when the award was first presented.

1933American League (4-2)
1934American League (9-7)
1935American League (4-1)
1936National League (4-3)
1937American League (8-3)
1938National League (4-1)
1939American League (3-1)
1940National League (4-0)
1941American League (7-5)
1942American League (3-1)
1943American League (5-3)
1944National League (7-1)
1945No Game due to World War II
1946American League (12-0)
1947American League (2-1)
1948American League (5-2)
1949American League (11-7)
1950National League (4-3, 14 innings)
1951National League (8-3)
1952National League (3-2, 5 innings)
1953National League (5-1)
1954American League (11-9)
1955National League (6-5)
1956National League (7-3)
1957American League (6-5)
1958American League (4-3)
1959 (Game 1)National League (5-4)
1959 (Game 2)American League (5-3)
1960 (Game 1)National League (5-3)
1960 (Game 2)National League (5-0)
1961 (Game 1)National League (5-4, 10 innings)
1961 (Game 2)Tie, 1-1
1962 (Game 1)National League (3-1)Maury Wills
1962 (Game 2)American League (9-4)Leon Wagner
1963National League (5-3)Willie Mays
1964National League (7-4)Johnny Callison
1965National League (6-5)Juan Marichal
1966National League (2-1)Brooks Robinson
1967National League (2-1, 15 innings)Tony Perez
1968National League (1-0)Willie Mays
1969National League (9-3)Willie McCovey
1970National League (5-4, 12 innings)Carl Yastrzemski
1971American League (6-4)Frank Robinson
1972National League (4-3, 10 innings)Joe Morgan
1973National League (7-1)Bobby Bonds
1974National League (7-2)Steve Garvey
1975National League (6-3)Bill Madlock and Jon Matlack
1976National League (7-1)George Foster
1977National League (7-5)Don Sutton
1978National League (7-3)Steve Garvey
1979National League (7-6)Dave Parker
1980National League (4-2)Ken Griffey, Sr.
1981National League (5-4)Gary Carter
1982National League (4-1)Dave Concepcion
1983American League (13-3)Fred Lynn
1984National League (3-1)Gary Carter
1985National League (6-1)LaMarr Hoyt
1986American League (3-2)Roger Clemens
1987National League (2-0, 13 innings)Tim Raines, Sr.
1988American League (2-1)Terry Steinbach
1989American League (5-3)Bo Jackson
1990American League (2-0)Julio Franco
1991American League (4-2)Cal Ripken, Jr.
1992American League (13-6)Ken Griffey, Jr.
1993American League (9-3)Kirby Puckett
1994National League (8-7, 10 innings)Fred McGriff
1995National League (3-2)Jeff Conine
1996National League (6-0)Mike Piazza
1997American League (3-1)Sandy Alomar, Sr.
1998American League (13-8)Roberto Alomar
1999American League (4-1)Pedro Martinez
2000American League (6-3)Derek Jeter
2001American League (4-1)Cal Ripken, Jr.
2002Tie (7-7, 11 innings)None
2003American LeagueGarrett Anderson
2004American League (9-4)Alfonso Soriano
2005American League (7-5)Miguel Tejada
2006American League (3-2)Michael Young
2007American League (5-4)Ichiro Suzuki
2008American League (4-3, 15 innings)J.D. Drew
2009American League (4-3)Carl Crawford
2010National League (3-1)Brian McCann
2011National League (5-1)Prince Fielder
2012National League (8-0)Melky Cabrera
2013American League (3-0)Mariano Rivera
2014American League (5-3)Mike Trout

All score data taken from’s All-Star Game page.