PGA golfer disqualified after breaking putter on head


Golf is a frustrating sport and sometimes those frustrations boil over and you bend your putter over your head and get disqualified from a PGA Tour event.

If you’ve ever played a round of golf you know just how challenging the sport is and how frustrating the game can be when the ball doesn’t go where you want it to go.

PGA Tour golfer Zac Blair knows all too well about the frustrations of the sport and he reached his boiling point during Friday’s round of the Wells Fargo Championship after missing a birdie putt on No. 5. Blair then did what many golfers playing their local course have done and hit himself square in the head with his putter. He then tapped in to finish the hole.

So what’s the problem?

Well, Blair bent his putter after smacking it against his head and using a bent putter violates rule 4-3b.

According to, “If, during a stipulated round, a player’s club is damaged other than in the normal course of play rendering it non-conforming or changing its playing characteristics, the club must not subsequently be used or replaced during the round.”

The normal course of play apparently doesn’t include letting some frustration out by hitting oneself in the head with the putter.

Blair was disqualified but took the DQ in stride and had a sense of humor about the whole thing afterward.

"Hey everyone my heads ok"

"A friend just called and asked if I really "broke my putter and javelin tossed the pin across the green""

So the next time you’re on the green and you miss a mitt, don’t worry about it if you let your emotions get the better of you because even the professionals are prone to an occasional emotional outburst.

For more golf coverage, you can visit our hub page.