Rams cornerback Nickell Robey-Coleman avoided a crucial penalty in the NFC Championship, but got flagged for a slightly questionable one in the Super Bowl.
Plenty of football fans think that the Los Angeles Rams didn’t belong in Super Bowl LIII after a controversial no-call in the NFC Championship. Cornerback Nickell Robey-Coleman eventually got a makeup call, but it was a game too late.
In the first quarter of the Super Bowl against the New England Patriots, Robey-Coleman snuffed out a screen and make a huge hit on Rex Burkhead. Unfortunately, the hit was a bit too violent, and it wound up drawing a personal foul penalty.
Granted, Robey-Coleman definitely made contact with his helmet, but the call has been made far too inconsistently this season. You can watch a video of the penalty below.
Because it’s the Patriots, fans of 31 other teams were freaking out on social media saying that the NFL is rigged for New England. It’s probably more productive to criticize the rule change that occurred this season, because penalties on plays like this have been too much of a toss-up.
It was an early penalty that didn’t result in any points, but that’ll never stop everyone from losing their minds because it happened in a Patriots game.