College football: 150th anniversary all-time team – Legends never die

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Archie Griffin of Ohio State holds up two fingers as he poses with the Heisman Trophy after he was named winner of the coveted bronze trophy for the second time in a row. Griffin is the first player ever to win the trophy twice. (Photo by Bettmann Archive/Getty Images)

In honor of the 150th anniversary of college football, these are the best of the best that make up the college football 150th-anniversary teams.

First-Team Offense

Tim Tebow, Florida Gators, Quarterback

Tebow won the Heisman Trophy at UF in 2007 and was a finalist two other seasons, in addition to being named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year three times. His 57 touchdowns from scrimmage are an SEC record. He also won two BCS National Championships under Urban Meyer’s tutelage.

Archie Griffin, Ohio State Buckeyes, Running Back

In addition to being the only two-time Heisman Trophy winner (1974 and ’75), Griffin was also a two-time consensus All-American and Walter Camp Player of the Year. He piled up nearly 6,000 rushing yards during his career.

Herschel Walker, Georgia Bulldogs, Running Back

Walker became a three-time consensus All-American at Georgia after leading the conference in rushing from 1980 through 1982. His 5,259 career yards rank first all-time in the SEC; Walker’s second all-time in rushing touchdowns (49) behind only Tim Tebow. He won the Heisman Trophy in 1982 and was a finalist the previous two years.

Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh Panthers, Wide Receiver

As a Heisman Trophy finalist in 2003, Fitzgerald led the nation in receiving yards (1,672) and touchdowns (22). He was named a consensus All-American, the Walter Camp Player of the Year, the Big East Offensive Player of the Year and he was named the Biletnikoff Award Winner, given to the nation’s best wide receiver.

Randy Moss, Marshall Thundering Herd, Wide Receiver

West Virginia-native Moss dominated defenses as a member of the Thundering Herd, particularly in 1997 when he tallied a nation-leading 1,820 receiving yards and 26 touchdowns. This earned him consensus All-American status, the Biletnikoff Award, the MAC Offensive Player of the Year and an invitation to the Heisman Trophy ceremony; he finished fourth.

Ozzie Newsome, Alabama Crimson Tide, Tight End

Playing for famed head coach Paul “Bear” Bryant, Newsome became an all-around offensive player Alabama, both blocking in the run game and catching in the passing game. He was named a consensus All-American in 1977 and totaled over 100 catches and 2,000 receiving yards for his career; Newsome scored 16 career touchdowns.

Orlando Pace, Ohio State Buckeyes, Tackle

A two-time consensus All-American at Ohio State, Pace is one of the best left tackles to strap up a helmet. In addition to being the only lineman named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, Pace was given back-to-back Vince Lombardi Awards, given to the Lineman of the Year.

Ron Yary, USC Trojans, Guard

For USC and coach John McKay, Yary was a two-time consensus All-American and an Outland Trophy winner, awarded to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman; he was drafted first overall in 1968. In addition to personal accolades, the Trojans were 24-7-1 during Yary’s time on the team.

Dave Rimington, Nebraska Cornhuskers, Center

Before having the “Most Outstanding Center” trophy named in his honor, Rimington was a two-time consensus All-American and a two-time Outland Trophy award winner – the only player to have won the award twice. He set a standard at Nebraska that every lineman after him tried living up to.

Jim Ritcher, N.C. State Wolfpack, Guard

Another two-time consensus All-American, Ritcher also won an Outland Trophy with the Wolfpack. North Carolina State won 24 games over the final three years of Ritcher’s career.

Jonathan Ogden, UCLA Bruins, Tackle

A staple at tackle for UCLA in the mid-’90s, Ogden won an Outland Trophy and was named a consensus All-American in 1995. He was a member of the 1993 team that won the Rose Bowl and had his No. 79 jersey retired at UCLA.

Reggie Bush, USC Trojans, All-Purpose

Bush’s college football resume needs to simply be listed: a two-time consensus All-American, a two-time Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year, a Doak Walker Award winner, the Walter Camp Player of the Year and a Heisman Trophy. Aside from the accolades, though, Bush was the most prolific open-field runner in college football.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse