NBA Season Preview 2022-23: Every team’s current longest-tenured player

Benny Sieu-USA TODAY Sports
Benny Sieu-USA TODAY Sports /
23 of 30
Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports
Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports /

Dallas Mavericks: Dwight Powell, 7.5 years

Two months into his rookie season and a week before Christmas in Dec. 2014, Dwight Powell was traded by the Boston Celtics along with Rajon Rondo to the Dallas Mavericks for Jae Crowder, Jameer Nelson, Brandan Wright and a 2016 first-round pick that later became Guerschon Yabusele.

From that 2014-15 Mavs team, Powell is the only player still in the NBA: Dirk Nowitzki, Monta Ellis, Chandler Parsons, Amar’e Stoudemire, Tyson Chandler, Devin Harris, J.J. Barea, Brandan Wright, Richard Jefferson, Charlie Villanueva and Raymond Felton. (That is, unless current free agent Rondo gets a job for this upcoming season.)

Powell is entering the final year of his current contract.