The NFL is investigating whether the Baltimore Ravens got the proper notice of an ineligible player during the divisional round game against the New England Patriots.
More from Baltimore Ravens
- Ravens need to give Odell Beckham Jr. a reason not to retire
- NFL Rumors: Ravens additions might not be done after signing Melvin Gordon
- NFL Power Rankings: Who is the best quarterback in each division?
- Is Mark Ingram’s new CFB gig a signal that he’s retired from NFL?
- NFL Power Rankings: Which teams will have the best rushing attacks this season?
In a tricky series of events, the Patriots outwitted the Ravens on a play that had Ravens coach John Harbaugh questioning its legality. On the now infamous trick play that ended up being the difference in the AFC Divisional Playoffs, it appears that the officials may have messed up the play and given the Patriots an unfair benefit.
To make a long story short, the play itself was indeed legal, but the debate is over whether the refs properly informed the Ravens of a key element before the play went down.
As Mike Florio of Pro Football Talk writes:
"It’s common for players with numbers that make them ineligible to report as eligible and then go down the field and become targets for passes. It’s less common for players with eligible numbers to report to officials as ineligible and then refrain from going down the field of play."
The latter part of that rule is what the Patriots worked off of in Saturday’s game and the league is now investigating whether the officials let the Ravens know that an eligible player would be ineligible for the play in question.
WATCH: Rodgers creates amazing new audible call (Video)
Patriots running back Shane Vereen, who was an otherwise eligible receiver, lined up as a split wide offensive lineman. He needed to report as an ineligible receiver, which he did. On the other side, tight end Michael Hoomanawanui was lined up tight on the line of scrimmage and he stayed an eligible receiver with an eligible number. Vereen needed to report as ineligible, but Hoomanawanui did not need to do anything different than he normally does, and he didn’t.
MORE: Hannah Storm explains on-air incident during SportsCenter
The confusing part came in the formation of the Patriots offensive line. The way the offensive line was set, it gave the impression to the Ravens that Vereen was eligible, which he was not, having reported that to the refs. So the Ravens assumed Vereen was eligible, because he normally would be in the formation that was set up. If the refs did not properly inform the Ravens that Vereen was, in fact, in eligible, you could see where the frustration on the Ravens side would be.
Florio breaks down the confusing formation as well:
"Although Vereen technically was the right tackle in a five-man offensive line, the center shifted one spot to the right, putting a pair of guards between the center and Vereen. Which created the impression that Vereen was eligible. To the left of the center, there was a guard (who was actually the left tackle) and Hoomanawanui, who appeared to be the left tackle but was actually an eligible tight end."
If the Ravens were not informed of Vereen’s ineligibility, they would have been further confused by the lineup, which suggested that Hoomanawanui was the ineligible one, and Vereen helped that along be behaving like a receiver during the play.
READ: Bears want to hire Gary Kubiak as HC
There’s no doubt the play is deceptive, as it was supposed to be. However, if the refs failed to inform the Ravens properly and give them a fair chance to adjust defensively, then it remains just a little bit unfair as well.
[H/T: PFT.com]
More from FanSided
- Joe Burrow owes Justin Herbert a thank you note after new contract
- Chiefs gamble at wide receiver could already be biting them back
- Braves-Red Sox start time: Braves rain delay in Boston on July 25
- Yankees: Aaron Boone gives optimistic return date for Aaron Judge
- MLB Rumors: Yankees-Phillies trade showdown, Mariners swoop, India goes to Seattle