All-Joe team celebrates NFL’s unsung heroes

Dec 8, 2013; Green Bay, WI, USA; Green Bay Packers quarterback Matt Flynn (10) gets a pass away while under pressure from Atlanta Falcons defensive end Osi Umenyiora (50) in the 3rd quarter at Lambeau Field. Mandatory Credit: Benny Sieu-USA TODAY Sports

In an effort to recognize the unsung heroes of the NFL, USA TODAY Sports recently announced its’ All-Joe team for the 22nd year.

The All-Joe team consists of a 53-man roster, and has at least one representative from every NFL team. Only players who have never been named to the Pro Bowl are eligible. Not coincidentally, the Denver Broncos and the Seattle Seahawks share the All-Joe team lead with four selections apiece.

The All-Joe team was created in 1992 by NFL writer Larry Weisman as a tribute to Joe Phillips, a 14-year defensive lineman who did the dirty work in the trenches for the Kansas City Chiefs.

The 2013 All-Joe team:

Matt Flynn (Packers)
Colin Kaepernick (49ers)
Josh McCown (Bears)

Running Back
Donald Browns (Colts)
Knowshon Moreno (Broncos)
Ben Tate (Texans)
Danny Woodhead (Chargers)

Bruce Miller (49ers)

Wide receiver
Marques Colston (Saints)
Jerricho Cotchery (Steelers)
Julian Edelman (Patriots)
Pierre Garcon (Redskins)
Jordy Nelson (Packers)
Golden Tate (Seahawks)

Tight end
Charles Clay (Dolphins)
Greg Olsen (Panthers)

Chris Clark (Broncos)
King Dunlap (Chargers)
Zach Strief (Saints)

Rodger Saffold (Rams)
Matt Slauson (Bears)
Geoff Schwartz (Chiefs)
Larry Warford (Lions)

Jason Kelce (Eagles)
Manny Ramirez (Broncos)

Josh Scobee (Jaguars)

Defensive line
Michael Bennett (Seahawks)
Calais Campbell (Cardinals)
Jurrell Casey (Titans)
Rob Ninkovich (Patriots)
Domata Peko (Bengals)
Brian Robison (Vikings)
Sheldon Richardson and Muhammad Wilkerson (Jets)

Outside linebacker
Lavonte David (Buccaneers)
Thomas Davis (Panthers)
Junior Galette (Saints)
Jerry Hughes (Bills)
DeAndre Levy (Lions)

Inside linebacker
Karlos Dansby (Cardinals)
Jerrell Freeman (Colts)
D’Qwell Jackson (Browns)
Nick Roach (Raiders)
Paul Worrilow (Falcons)

Tramaine Brock (49ers)
Chris Harris (Broncos)
Byron Maxwell (Seahawks)
Captain Munnerlyn (Panthers)
Terrell Thomas (Giants)
Lardarius Webb (Ravens)

Barry Church (Cowboys)
Reggie Nelson (Bengals)

Jon Ryan (Seahawks)