June 2, 2012; Erendira, BC, Mexico; SCORE trophy truck and NASCAR driver Robby Gordon races his Dakar Rally truck through the pebble beach section during the Tecate SCORE Baja 500. Mandatory Credit: Matt Kartozian-USA TODAY Sports

2014 Dakar Rally Results

The 36th edition of the world famous Dakar rally completed its 13th and final stage, as the surviving cars, motorcycles and quadbikes rode into Valparaiso in Argentina.

Nani Roma won his first title in the car category, a decade after his triumph in the 2004 Dakar on a motorcycle.

Dakar legend Marc Coma won his fourth title in the motorcycle category, having finished the final stage in 18th position, maintaining his lead in the overall classification. The Spaniard has been hugely consistent, having won or finished on the podium in each of the last four events. His title was also manufacturer KTM’s 13th win.

In the quad category, Chilean rider Ignacio Casale won his first Dakar title. The 26 year old had previously competed in the 2010 Dakar in the truck category with his father, and in the 2011 Dakar on a motorcycle, before swithing to the quad in 2012 and finishing fourth in the overall standings.

In 2013 he became the first Chilean to win a stage in the Dakar, and finished second overall behind Marcos Patronelli. Casale won the first stage on this years rally, and set the best time on the fourth stage, but was denied the stage victory after an error with his roadbook (the map racers use to navigate through the day).

Kamaz picked up another truck title, with Andrey Karginov driving them to victory, assisted by co-driver Andrey Mokeev and mechanic Igor Devyatkin, all from Russia.

There was a single fatality on the Dakar this year, with Belgian Belgian rider Eric Palante was found dead following the  fifth stage. Palante, a father of five, was competing in the Dakar for the 11th time. The Belgian is the 27th competitor killed in the rally’s history.

comments powered by Disqus