PFA award nominees revealed


The nominees for the PFA Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year awards for the Premier League have been announced.

More from Premier League

After much excitement and anticipation, the nominees for the PFA awards were finally announced today.

Tottenham striker Harry Kane, Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez, Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea, Chelsea’s Eden Hazard and Diego Costa and finally Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho have all been nominated for the Player of the Year award.

Kane, De Gea and Hazard were also nominated for the Young Player of the Year award alongside the likes of Liverpool’s Raheem Sterling and Chelsea’s Thibaut Courtois.

Hazard was also nominated for both categories last season and while he won the Young Player of the Year award, he missed out on the Player of the Year award to Luis Suarez, who has since moved on from Liverpool to Barcelona.

There has been much controversy over the inclusion of Coutinho as many believe the likes of Nemanja Matic, Cesc Fabregas, John Terry or Sergio Aguero deserve the nod over the Brazilian playmaker.

However, it wasn’t the PFA who decided on the nominees. The nominees were voted for by players from the Premier League, the three divisions of the Football League and the Women’s Super League.

Here is the full list:

Mens’ Player of the Year

Diego Costa (Chelsea)

David De Gea (Manchester United)

Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)

Mens’ Young Player of the Year

Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea)

Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)

David De Gea (Manchester United)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Raheem Sterling (Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year

Eniola Aluko (Chelsea)

Lucy Bronze (Manchester City)

Jess Clarke (Notts County)

Karen Carney (Birmingham City)

Kelly Smith (Arsenal)

Ji So-yun (Chelsea)

Women’s Young Player of the Year

Freda Ayisi (Birmingham City)

Hannah Blundell (Chelsea)

Aoife Mannion (Birmingham City)

Nikita Parris (Manchester City)

Leah Williamson (Arsenal)

More from FanSided