Complete list of Heisman Trophy winners


Before the 2015 Heisman Trophy winner is announced, here is the complete list of previous winners.

There is no more prestigious an honor than the Heisman Trophy in college football. Each year the Heisman Trophy is given to the best player in college football and the list of winners have represented the best to ever play the game at this level.

The finalists this year are:

Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama

Christian McCaffery, RB, Stanford

Deshaun Watson, QB, Clemson

Each of these individuals has proven this year to be worthy of the award. All of them have led their team to big seasons and conference championships. It’s one of those seasons where there isn’t a wrong choice, which makes it harder to even pick a winner.

Who will be the newest addition to the Heisman Trophy club on Saturday? Here is the list of previous Heisman Trophy winners.

1935 Jay Berwanger Chicago Halfback
1936 Larry Kelley Yale End
1937 Clint Frank Yale Halfback
1938 Davey O’Brien TCU Quarterback
1939 Nile Kinnick Iowa Halfback/Quarterback
1940 Tom Harmon Michigan Halfback
1941 Bruce Smith Minnesota Halfback
1942 Frank Sinkwich Georgia Halfback
1943 Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame Quarterback
1944 Les Horvath Ohio State Quarterback/Halfback
1945 Doc Blanchard Army Fullback
1946 Glenn Davis Army Halfback
1947 Johnny Lujack Notre Dame Quarterback
1948 Doak Walker SMU Halfback
1949 Leon Hart Notre Dame End
1950 Vic Janowicz Ohio State Halfback/Punter
1951 Dick Kazmaier Princeton Halfback
1952 Billy Vessels Oklahoma Halfback
1953 Johnny Lattner Notre Dame Halfback
1954 Alan Ameche Wisconsin Fullback
1955 Howard Cassady Ohio State Halfback
1956 Paul Hornung Notre Dame Quarterback
1957 John David Crow Texas A&M Halfback
1958 Pete Dawkins Army Halfback
1959 Billy Cannon LSU Halfback
1960 Joe Bellino Navy Halfback
1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse Halfback/Linebacker/Fullback
1962 Terry Baker Oregon State Quarterback
1963 Roger Staubach Navy Quarterback
1964 John Huarte Notre Dame Quarterback
1965 Mike Garrett USC Halfback
1966 Steve Spurrier Florida Quarterback
1967 Gary Beban UCLA Quarterback
1968 O. J. Simpson USC Halfback
1969 Steve Owens Oklahoma Fullback
1970 Jim Plunkett Stanford Quarterback
1971 Pat Sullivan Auburn Quarterback
1972 Johnny Rodgers Nebraska Wide Receiver/Running back
1973 John Cappelletti Penn State Running back
1974 Archie Griffin Ohio State Running back
1975 Archie Griffin Ohio State Running back
1976 Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh Running back
1977 Earl Campbell Texas Running back
1978 Billy Sims Oklahoma Running back
1979 Charles White USC Running back
1980 George Rogers South Carolina Running back
1981 Marcus Allen USC Running back
1982 Herschel Walker Georgia Running back
1983 Mike Rozier Nebraska Running back
1984 Doug Flutie Boston College Quarterback
1985 Bo Jackson Auburn Running back
1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami Quarterback
1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame Wide receiver
1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State Running back
1989 Andre Ware Houston Quarterback
1990 Ty Detmer BYU Quarterback
1991 Desmond Howard Michigan Wide receiver/Punt returner
1992 Gino Torretta Miami Quarterback
1993 Charlie Ward Florida State Quarterback
1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado Running back
1995 Eddie George Ohio State Running back
1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida Quarterback
1997 Charles Woodson Michigan Cornerback/Punt returner
1998 Ricky Williams Texas Running back
1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin Running back
2000 Chris Weinke Florida State Quarterback
2001 Eric Crouch Nebraska Quarterback
2002 Carson Palmer USC Quarterback
2003 Jason White Oklahoma Quarterback
2004 Matt Leinart USC Quarterback
2005 Reggie Bush USC Running Back
2006 Troy Smith Ohio State Quarterback
2007 Tim Tebow Florida Quarterback
2008 Sam Bradford Oklahoma Quarterback
2009 Mark Ingram, Jr. Alabama Running back
2010 Cam Newton Auburn Quarterback
2011 Robert Griffin III Baylor Quarterback
2012 Johnny Manziel Texas A&M Quarterback
2013 Jameis Winston Florida State Quarterback
2014 Marcus Mariota Oregon Quarterback

Who from this year’s class will join the elite ranks of being a Heisman Trophy winner? The choice won’t be easy, but no matter who wins, it can’t be argued that the winner doesn’t deserve to win.

2015 has been a great year for college football, and hopefully the talent for next year’s 2016 Heisman Trophy award can be just as talented as the 2015 class was.