STP 500 2016: Official results from Martinsville


Here are the official results from the 2016 STP 500 at Martinsville Speedway.

Every single season, Martinsville Speedway always produces some of the most exciting races of the season. This year, it was no exception at the 2016 STP 500. Coming into the race, everyone thought Joey Logano would be the one to run away with the race and make everyone catch him.

That wasn’t the case and Logano dropped back early. He just couldn’t get the speed that he was having in qualifying to hold off the competition and everyone else really outmatched him. For most of the day, the real battle was between Joe Gibbs Racing teammates Matt Kenseth and Kyle Busch.

The two dominated for most of the day, but Busch was able to use the inside of the track to hold off Kenseth, who would fall back to the middle of the pack. A.J. Allmendinger would make a surprise run and give Busch his best shot, but it wasn’t enough.

For Busch, it was a big day for him as he finally overcame his struggles at a track that he generally doesn’t do well at. With the win he is now going to the Chase. Here are the official results from Martinsville.

1  Kyle Busch
2  AJ Allmendinger
3  Kyle Larson
4  Austin Dillon
5  Brad Keselowski
6  Carl Edwards
7  Brian Vickers
8  Paul Menard
9  Jimmie Johnson
10  Ryan Newman
11  Joey Logano
12  Greg Biffle
13  Kurt Busch
14  Dale Earnhardt Jr.
15  Matt Kenseth
16  Danica Patrick
17  Kevin Harvick
18  Martin Truex Jr.
19  Ryan Blaney
20  Chase Elliott
21  David Ragan
22  Kasey Kahne
23  Jamie McMurray
24  Michael McDowell
25  Clint Bowyer
26  Brian Scott
27  Trevor Bayne
28  Landon Cassill
29  Matt DiBenedetto
30  Cole Whitt
31  Casey Mears
32  Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
33  Chris Buescher
34  Regan Smith
35  Michael Annett
36  Joey Gase
37  Reed Sorenson
38  Josh Wise
39  Denny Hamlin
40  Aric Almirola

For more NASCAR coverage, be sure to visit our hub page.