Did the Minnesota Wild actually score towards the end of Game 6?
Game 6 of the first round of the 2016 Stanley Cup playoffs will be a day that many Wild fans would love to forget as Minnesota narrowly missed out on beating the Dallas Stars 5-4. However, many Minnesota fans will be quite upset that an alleged goal late in the game that would have tied the game did not count. But should it have counted? Let’s take a look.
That’s dangerously close to being a goal. To be fair, this is definitely not the first time that the Stars have benefitted from a sketchy ruling about a series determining goal in the playoffs. However, just a little tiny sliver of the puck stays short of passing the goal line, so no, it is not a goal.
However, should it have been a penalty shot? Perhaps so. Jason Demers of the Stars most likely closed his hand over the puck. If that happens around the crease, a penalty shot is supposed to be awarded. Let’s take a look.
It’s hard to tell if Demers closes his hand around the puck. Too bad the NHL doesn’t allow for reviews for those kinds of things. If they did, the Wild might still be in the series.