David Pollack, Eric Dickerson headline 2020 College Football Hall of Fame class

David Pollack, Eric Dickerson, Steve McNair and Eric Crouch are among the many who headline the 2020 College Football Hall of Fame class.

On Wednesday morning, the 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Class was announced. 17 collegiate standouts from their playing days and two excellent coaches make up the latest class to earn enshrinement in Atlanta. These 19 men will be inducted on Dec. 8.

1989 inductee and NFF chairman Archie Manning had this to say about this year’s class, “We are extremely proud to announce the 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Class. Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments.”

Here are the 19 men who will join the ranks of college football immortality in Atlanta in December.

2020 College Football Hall of Fame class

Players (17)

  • Lomas Brown – OT, Florida (1981-84)
  • Keith Byars – RB, Ohio State (1982-85)
  • Eric Crouch – QB, Nebraska (1998-2001)
  • Eric Dickerson – RB, Southern Methodist (1979-82)
  • Glenn Dorsey – DT, LSU (2004-07)
  • Jumbo Elliott – OT, Michigan (1984-87)
  • Jason Hanson – PK, Washington State (1988-91)
  • E.J. Henderson – LB, Maryland (1999-2002)
  • E.J. Junior – DE, Alabama (1977-80)
  • Steve McNair – QB, Alcorn State (1991-94)
  • Cade McNown – QB, UCLA (1995-98)
  • Leslie O’Neal – DT, Oklahoma State (1982-85)
  • Anthony Poindexter – DB, Virginia (1995-98)
  • David Pollack – DE, Georgia (2001-04)
  • Bob Stein – DE, Minnesota (1966-68)
  • Michael Westbrook – WR, Colorado (1991-94)
  • Elmo Wright – WR, Houston (1968-70)

Coaches (2)

  • Dick Sheridan – 121-52-5 (69.4%); Furman (1978-85), North Carolina State (1986-92)
  • Andy Talley – 258-155-2 (62.4%); St. Lawrence [NY] (1979-83), Villanova (1985-2016)

Of the 17 players, a few names stand out. SMU Mustangs running back and Pro Football Hall of Famer Eric Dickerson finally gets in. The late Steve McNair earns enshrinement after an unforgettable career quarterbacking the Alcorn State Braves. Nebraska Cornhuskers quarterback Eric Crouch is the only Heisman Trophy winner to get in this year.

And then, there’s former Georgia Bulldogs defensive end David Pollack…

Pollack is one of two three-time All-Americans in Georgia’s proud football history, with the other obviously being running back Herschel Walker. Largely viewed as the greatest defensive player in Georgia history and the best player of the 15-year Mark Richt era in Athens, a career-ending vertebrae injury halted a promising NFL career with the Cincinnati Bengals after only two seasons.

Pollack has since embarked on a terrific college football analyst career with ESPN. While on assignment at the University of Oklahoma, Pollack was surprised on air to find out he’s getting into the College Football Hall of Fame this year. His wife, kids and parents were there to surprise him in Norman.

Looking at the list players getting into the hall of fame, you’ll catch yourself wondering how a guy wasn’t inducted already. Every single one of them dominated while they were in school. They were huge reasons we tuned in on fall Saturdays to watch them play. If we got to see him in person, we never forgot that day. Congratulations to all of this year’s inductees. What an honor!

For more NCAA football news, analysis, opinion and unique coverage by FanSided, including Heisman Trophy and College Football Playoff rankings, be sure to bookmark these pages.